I'm unemployed, now what?

Hola!

Last Friday was my final week working at my full-time job. Over the past year and a half, working alongside a celebrity chef to grow one of his fastest-rising brands, which has made its mark in New York, Las Vegas, and Chicago, has been a fantastic adventure.

I'm leaving with a heart full of gratitude for all I've learned. It was a new way to experience marketing, and I gained deep insights into loyalty and the hospitality business, which is one of the industries I am most passionate about.

Additionally, this week is Race Week, meaning I'll be running my third Ironman 70.3 in Boulder, Colorado, on Saturday. These weeks are always thrilling and filled with passion. I'm excited about this race, aiming again to break my personal best. (I’ll let you know next week…)

So what’s next? How the fuck I’m going to pay the bills?

I believe this is the perfect time to commit to my projects fully. Over the past few months, my clients as a Brand Strategist have grown significantly, and I'm thrilled to dedicate myself entirely to it alongside my team in Mexico. I’ll continue working under the structure of Atla* Studio. I also want to devote my time to the projects I've invested in, such as WeLoveDaily, Sexto Abismo, and TigreTigre. I'll be updating you on each of these projects weekly.

I aim to grow the studio significantly by undertaking challenging and innovative branding projects for more prominent and influential brands. I aim to push the boundaries of creativity and strategy, ensuring our work meets and exceeds market expectations. By doing so, we intend to create impactful and resonant brand experiences that stand out in a competitive marketplace. This ambitious vision for Atla* is about expanding and setting a new standard in branding.

Sexto Abismo

A Mexican gin brand I co-founded with friends nearly two years ago. We are currently working on getting the brand into the U.S. market. It's a tedious and complicated process, but we have found suitable strategic approaches to make it happen. Now that I no longer have a full-time job, I can dedicate more time to visiting restaurants here in Chicago to have them try and learn about the product.

TigreTigre

I invested in it almost a year ago but couldn't get involved due to my commitment to my full-time role. TigreTigre is a sushi restaurant in San Luis Potosí, designed a while ago with my friends from Elipsis Arquitectura.

It’s a small, beautiful space in San Luis. Now that I have more time, I will focus on how TigreTigre is expressed in Sexto Abismo and TigreTigre. I want to take on the role of Creative Director for both brands.

WeLoveDaily

A design community with nearly 2 million followers. I had the opportunity to purchase it early this year and didn't hesitate. Currently, the primary revenue source for this community is designers paying a small fee to feature their work on our pages. Initially, I focused on making the project submission process much more accessible, which we have accomplished. Now, we will focus on creating various resources for sale to designers, such as mockups and templates.

Feelings?

Honestly, I'm very nervous and concerned about this new phase. The process accelerated faster than I had anticipated; I thought I would start perhaps at the end of this year or early next year, but due to mainly immigration law reasons, this process advanced.

Building in public!

Lastly, I want to ask for everyone's help. Next week, we will launch my new websites, the Atla* website and the WeLoveDaily website. The upcoming weeks will be intense, and I expect your feedback!

Additionally, I’m still working with my clients and have some availability for new clients looking to undertake a complete branding project.

Thank you for joining me on this journey. Let's keep learning and innovating together. Until next time, keep the passion and creativity alive.

José.

P.S. If you are looking for a branding project, check my portfolio here.