Ironman Highs & Project Updates: What a Week!

🏃🏽 ⚡️

Hi everyone ⚡️

This week has been all about pushing boundaries and testing limits. On Saturday, I competed in my third Ironman 70.3 in Boulder, Colorado, and it was an experience like no other. Yesterday, I also celebrated my first wedding anniversary with Paola, adding a special touch to this week.

The race was incredibly tough. The altitude change from sea level in Chicago to the mountains in Boulder proved to be a significant challenge. Swimming, usually one of my strengths, was more difficult than ever. I doubted whether I would finish the race in the first five minutes because I struggled to breathe. However, I managed to improve and stayed close to my usual time. I also set a personal record on the bike, riding 90 kilometers quickly and thoroughly enjoying the route.

The run, however, was the hardest part. I aimed to complete the half marathon in about two hours and ten minutes but finished in almost three hours, my worst time for a half marathon. The last eight kilometers were particularly grueling, but I pushed through and finished.

Now, let’s discuss what’s happening with my projects this week.

Atla* Studio

This week, there haven't been major advances in client acquisition for Atla* Studio. However, we've made significant progress on the bureaucratic front and in continuing to build our great team of designers, primarily located in Latin America. This groundwork is essential for our future growth and success.

Sexto Abismo

We had a significant breakthrough with Sexto Abismo. Starting in June, our Mexican gin will be featured in a prestigious group of restaurants in San Luis Potosí. This partnership is a big step forward, significantly boosting our monthly growth. We're thrilled to collaborate with this group, which also has a presence in Cancún, with around six restaurants where Sexto Abismo will be the house gin.

TigreTigre

At TigreTigre, we're working hard to bring more people to the restaurant. Although we've made great strides in improving discipline in the kitchen and how we purchase supplies, we've been somewhat stuck in marketing and creativity. We're implementing various activities to help boost our presence. For instance, we've started hosting a DJ set every other Thursday, significantly increasing our sales on those days. Additionally, we recently obtained our alcohol sales license, which is a huge step forward as we prepare to reopen our new terrace.

WeLoveDaily

We have made considerable progress with WeLoveDaily. The submission process has improved significantly, which has greatly benefited our community. We are also about to launch our first mockup product—a package with nearly 30 mockups of Chicago, of course. I took the photos myself, an editor in Bangladesh helped with the photo editing, and now an editor in India is preparing everything to ensure these mockups are perfect and ready to upload to various marketplaces, including our upcoming new WeLoveDaily website.

Feelings?

I feel more motivated and excited about building my projects. The experience in Boulder, despite its challenges, has left me feeling more resilient and ready to tackle what's ahead. The initial nerves are beginning to fade, replaced by determination and enthusiasm. I'm more focused and determined to make the most of this opportunity to fully commit to my ventures.

Building in Public!

This week, I'm excited to announce that jdomito.com, my personal portfolio site, will go live. I will showcase my services personally and through the agency on this site.

Until next time, keep the passion and creativity alive.

Catch you later, José. ⚡️

Also, if you are looking for a branding project, check out my portfolio. As a fractional brand strategist, I'm excited to work with new clients on branding and rebranding.